Our Board

Our Board of Directors

  • Gen John W. Handy, USAF (Ret.), Chairman
  • Enrique Rueda Sabater, Vice-Chairman
  • Terrence Colvin, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Michael Barzelay, Executive Director (ex officio)
  • David M. Davenport, General Counsel
  • Daniel Heath, CTSI Managing Director
  • Stephen Benowitz
  • Don G. Mizaur
  • Bonnie Morehouse
  • Myra Howze Shiplett
  • Fred Thompson
  • Sidney G. Winter Jr

General John W. Handy
CTSI Board Chairman

General John W. Handy, retired from USAF in 2005. Among the roles he filled in the U.S. Department of Defense in his military career are:

  • Commander, U.S. Transportation Command
  • Commander, Air Mobility Command
  • Vice Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force
  • Deputy Chief of Staff, Installations and Logistics, HQ USAF

Enrique Rueda Sabater
CTSI Board Vice Chairman

Enrique Rueda Sabater is currently the Director, Strategy and Business Development (Emerging Markets) at CISCO Systems. Among the roles he filled during his World Bank career was as Director, Strategy and Integrated Risk Management.
He recently co-authored “Rethinking Fundamental Principles of Global Governance: How to Represent States and Populations in Multilateral Institutions,” Governance: An International Journal of Policy, Administration, and Institutions, July 2009.

Dr. Terrence Colvin
CTSI Board Secretary/Treasurer

A career-long policy researcher and adviser, Dr. Terrence Colvin founded and chaired Synergy, Inc. in Washington, D.C., before the company was acquired by ICF International.
In addition to providing leadership on all aspects of CTSI, Terry is president of Success Markets Inc, a not-for profit based in Washington.

Michael Barzelay
CTSI Executive Director

Michael Barzelay is Professor of Public Management at the London School of Economics and Political Science.
He is an author of five books and numerous articles on public management and public policy and served as co-editor of Governance, a leading international academic journal of political science and public administration.
Michael Barzelay earned his PhD in Political Science from Yale and served on the faculty of Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government for 10 years before moving to LSE in 1995. He holds an honorary doctorate in political science from University of St. Gallen (Switzerland). He also has extensive consulting and executive teaching experience.

David M. Davenport
CTSI General Counsel

David Davenport has enjoyed decades of legal experience dealing in the public and private sectors. He has been recognized for his many professional and civic contributions. He is admitted to the District of Columbia and Virginia Bars and the Courts of those jurisdictions. His other admissions include: the U.S. Tax Court, the United States Court of Military Appeals, and the U.S. Supreme Court. He has either advised or served on the Boards of a number of well known business and charitable corporations.

David’s professional qualifications are:

  • J.D., George Washington University,1968
  • Admitted to bar, Virginia, 1968
  • District of Columbia, 1969
  • U.S. Court of Military Appeals, 1970
  • U.S. Supreme Court, 1976
  • U.S. Tax Court, 1978
  • U.S. District Court, District of Maryland, 1991

Daniel Heath
CTSI Managing Director

Daniel Heath has held the following senior public service roles:

  • Alternate Executive Director (US), International Monetary Fund.
  • Director in the White House National Economic Council, responsible for small business, entrepreneurship, international food aid, rural development, and economic opportunity issues.
  • Senior economist for natural resources and international trade, Office of Management and Budget.

He is a Senior Fellow at the Center for Financial Institutions, Policy and Governance, Georgetown University and is Director of Economics at Oxford Analytica.

Stephen Benowitz
Lead Executive Fellow

Stephen has held the following senior public service roles:

  • Associate Director, U.S. Office of Personnel Management.
  • Director of Management Planning, the National Institutes of Health.
  • Director of Human Resources for NIH, Department of the Treasury, and the Federal Trade Commission.

He also has consulting experience at:

  • Ministry of Planning, Budget and Management, Government of Brazil (funded by the Inter-American Development Bank).
  • Department of Agriculture (Farm Services Administration).
  • Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

Don G. Mizaur
Executive Fellow

Don has held the following senior public service roles:

  • Director, Federal Quality Institute.
  • Assistant Director, U.S. Office for Employee Development, Policy and Programs.

He also has consulting experience at:

  • Intern-American Development Bank.
  • Office of the Secretary of Defense.
  • Federal Bureau of Investigations.
  • Health Care Financing Administration.
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission.
  • Department of Transportation.
  • U.S. Navy.
  • National Institutes of Health.
  • The Administrative Office of the U. S. Courts.

Bonnie Morehouse
Executive Fellow

Bonnie has held the following senior public service roles:

  • Director, Program Analysis and Evaluation, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).
  • Director, Programming Division, United States Navy.
  • Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Manpower.

She also has the consulting experience at:

  • Department of Commerce.
  • Department of Defense.
  • Department of Veterans Affairs.
  • House Appropriations Committee.

Myra Howze Shiplett
Executive Fellow

Myra has held the following senior public service roles:

  • Director, Center for Human Resources Management, National Academy of Public Administration.
  • Assistant Director for Human Resources and Statistics, The Administrative Office of the U. S. Courts.
  • Director of Administration, Federal Housing Finance Board.
  • Associate Director for Human Resources, U.S. Department of State.

She has the consulting experience at:

  • Court System, Republic of Indonesia.
  • Merit based civil service system, Republic of Iraq.

Myra has also worked at:

  • Justice sector reform for court systems and Office of Attorneys General – Indonesia, Albania, Ukraine, Russia
  • Public Sector Reform – Republics of Georgia, Bulgaria, Iraq

Fred Thompson
Lead Academic Fellow

Fred has held the following academic post:

  • Goudy Professor of Public Policy and Management, Atkinson Graduate School of Management, Willamette University.
    He has co-authored the following list of books:
    - Information Technology, Government, Politics.
    - Public Ethics and Governance.
    - Public Management: Institutional Renewal for the 21st Century.
    - Reinventing the Pentagon.

He also has consulting experience at:

  • State of Oregon.
  • Air Force Materiel Command.

Sidney G. Winter Jr
Academic Fellow

Sidney holds the following academic post:

  • Deloitte and Touche Professor of Management Emeritus, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania.

He has held the following senior public service role:

  • Chief Economist, U.S. General Accounting Office